Home > Uncategorized > Talking about Just another POST CARD FROM THE PAINTING STUDIO followed by LIBERTY AND DRAGON-Eclipse, Magic, Myth

Talking about Just another POST CARD FROM THE PAINTING STUDIO followed by LIBERTY AND DRAGON-Eclipse, Magic, Myth


 

Quote

Just another POST CARD FROM THE PAINTING STUDIO followed by LIBERTY AND DRAGON-Eclipse, Magic, Myth

Post Card from the Painting Studio
     My work week was very demanding and exhausting.  No one is putting a gun to my head, yet, and I do enjoy my job most of the time.  I woke today at the crack of noon to a bright clear day without a cloud in the sky.  Perfect for my Sunday walk, 38 degrees and sunny.  Half a pot of coffee, French toast ala Stephen and I was off.  I wore a light jacket and the sun felt warm on my face.  This is going to be grand!  No snow except for some scattered dirty clumps, the twitter of birds and clear blue above.  Then just as I gained my stride the winds began to gust, and gust to turn me cold but not turn me back.  I laughed and thought it was the revenge of the Snow Queen.  A week or so ago I had my yearly check up at the VA Clinic and am good to go.   Well, my Dr. did refer me to Mental Health for an appointment.  Imagine that!  Smile. 
     Yesterday was my very good friend Jeremy’s 30th birthday.  Happy Birthday Jer!  http://starwarsfan77.spaces.live.com    My dinner is in the oven.  Spare ribs with sauerkraut, caraway seeds, new red potatoes, onions, with Lawry’s seasoned salt, pepper, garlic and a can of beer.  When the dish is nearly ready I will finish it off with dark brown sugar.  I am going to call my Mother now, then get a Gin on ice and do some writing.  Am in the mood for some fiction mixed with poetic whatever I come up with.
 
LIBERTY AND DRAGON-ECLIPSE, MAGIC, MYTH AND SOMETHING ABOUT THE MOON 
 
Liberty stepped softly from the clouds and spread her wings then soared.  White feathers stretched  as she sailed and the Sun light glinted all around her, in the clear blue and the twilight she found the Dragon and thwacked him on the snout.  There was a quiet rumble and a puff of smoke as the Dragon began to wake.  One red eye, then the other opened, to see Liberty.  The Dragon then smiled and wagged his tail.  Or rather, slapped and thumped it in the Cave.
Liberty was rubbing her right elbow and smiling at the Dragon as she folded her wings and said,
 
" Dragon, did you see the Eclipse last night?  It was so glorious and a moment to behold." 
The Dragon sat upright and wiped the sleep from his eyes, took a drink of dragon brew and cleared his throat, then said.  " Of course I saw the Eclipse, I made the Moon look red!"  With a small puff and an expression of indignation.  Rather child like in a dragon sort of way.  Liberty was right there.
"Silly Dragon, you had nothing to do with the Eclipse or the color of the Moon. These are not the Olden Days."  She said, in a firm but gentle voice. 
The Dragon put his claws together, looked down and there was a slight twitch of his tail.  He was silent for several moments, staring off into Space.   Liberty just stood there and touched his head, graced his brow and patted him like he was an old dog.  Warm and friendly.  The love of eternety returned and there was a spark in his eye as he said.
" Yeah, I know the Olden Days are gone.  That is why I slumber so.  You look better than ever!  Why do you keep rubbing your elbow?"  The dragon then took another draw of the dragon brew as Liberty smiled and replied.
" It is nothing, but a slight pain from holding the Torch.  More of this later."  She said and sat next to the Dragon with a wing and an arm around him.
     Head to head they nustled in silence as the worlds and words spun about them.  The memory of the Olden Days and the New Worlds and thoughts of their place These Days.  Oh, there the memory of Liberty and Dragon danced with the Lords and Ladies, the Faries and Angels people of the forests, rock, stone, river, streams, oceans and all the Saints and Fires that glimmer in the night and imagination.  That have ever been and ever shall be……Then Dragon held out his hand and said with a smile.  " Sissor, rock, or paper?"   Liberty laughed out loud!  A laugh that rings in all things, it was so sharp and sweet. 
She smiled at the Dragon, rubbing her elbow.  Then Said, " Dear Dragon, it is written somewhere that in the Beginning Was the Word.  The Word became that which gave us life in the mind of humanity.  There we have given Humanity the beauty of the Myth, the Magic and healing quality of words.  The poets and the Muse.  The Dream of the Other Worlds and the beauty of All."
There they both sat in profound silence and reviewed the sad state of human history.  All the terror, wars, greed, disaster, famon, starvation, man’s cruelty to man’s own kind and the rape and pilliage of the Planet that gave them birth.  Sacred sweet life, the ability.  The desire, the Dream.
Liberty, sighed and said, "  My elbow is sore from holding the Torch," as she held the Dragon and wept. 
The Dragon, wiped her tears and said, " Dear Liberty, though they need us not in the times of their own making and folly.  They need us forever in the beauty of the Myths, Magic and Glory of it All.
"Yes, there we shall ever be."  Liberty spread her wings and soared with a song of Freedom holding high the Torch for All to see the Light. 

 

To me, the beauty of the myth, is as dear as the reality.  There we are able to examine our heritage as our heritage is paramount to the future.  We need and desire fiction that is more than entertainment.  Thus, we were given the Word and the desire to share.

As ever be well, With love,  Stephen Craig Rowe

 

 

 
 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Angela
    March 5, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Beautiful imagery there Stephen, not just with the eclipse, but the spareribs too.  Can I come over for dinner??
     
    *s* Hope you have a wonderful week…

  2. Magenta
    March 5, 2007 at 3:51 am

    Hi Stephen,Glad to hear that your health is okay and that you are busy being creative as ever.Take care,Elise

  3. Magenta
    March 5, 2007 at 3:53 am

    Stephen,I have been having trouble posting to and linking to your space. Will try again another time as I guess Spaces is acting up.

  4. Fée
    March 5, 2007 at 11:24 am

    What a beautiful story, Stephen! I fell in love with this tired Liberty. Would you mind, if I take your story and try to translate in German for to put it in my own Space as yours? Please tell me.

  5. Maria
    March 5, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Hello i know your space from Nikki’s. Your space looks so neat and simple, i love it! Also i do really enjoy looking at your photo album. You drew all these painting? Keep up the good work!
    I will pop back again once i’ve time, your space looks really beautiful.
    Maria
    Circle of Spaces
     

  6. Hope
    March 5, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    My dearest Stephen,
    and forever they dance ..
    Liberty and Dragon..
    remembering the myth, magic, and lore of olden times..
    as they now bring in the light and truth of the Word and its Light..
    that has been covered ..transformed and forgotten..
    If not for Liberty and Dragon.. we would be in a dark place..indeed..
    as you say.. one well placed word.. for the betterment of All..
    Your dinner sounds fabulious.. think you may have guests for dinner.. "smile"
    your work has zapped you.. take the time now.. to crawl out of the cave.. and breathe in the freshness of the air about..
    softley kissing your forehead.. and whispering Thank you..for your words and your light..
    much love Hope
     
     

  7. Barbara
    March 5, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    cry

  8. Fée
    March 6, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Hei∂e
    (what happens to "spaces"? It doesn’t like to show my name),
     
    but – Stephen, thank you for you have told me "yes" to translate your beautiful story of Liberty and her dragon. There it is:
    Ein Märchen von einem Drachen und Liberty mit dem schmerzenden Ellbogen …
    and I hope, you’ll like it.
     
    If we are in fact Pan narrans , we all should make up our minds to tell stories of beauty and magic, to have something to put against horror films an violence as entertainment.
     
    Here, near Vienna, it is 01:12 AM, so Good Night now. :-)

  9. Exil
    March 6, 2007 at 11:28 am

     
     
     

    And in the naked light I saw 10000 people maybe more People talking without speaking People hearing without listening People writing songs that voices never share No one dare Disturb the sound of silence
    Silence is emotion
    Dont need words to express my-self
    Open mind through my pictures
    Light and darkness making love
    And becoming stardust for
    Children eyes
     
    Thanks for your words
    eXiL
     
     
     

  10. Moon
    March 6, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Stephen,
     
    how kind of you to stop by and tell me this story, after such a long time i haven’t come to visit you, i receive such love as well :)
    i feel that as well-that is that we need and desire fiction, and can’t live without it…and in fiction there is the mythologies as well as our own dreams, poetry, art….
     
    i loved this "God and I love you where there are no words"’ i’m looking more and more for this place – where amazing lights and peace are manifested visually in great beauty

  11. Marilia
    March 6, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Lindo texto…maravilhoso…com muito custo consegui ler…com a ajuda de um tradutor …é claro!!!
    Beijos…volto meu querido!!!

  12. Marilia
    March 6, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Thankssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!!!
    Obrigadooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!
    1.000 beijos … 1.000 kisses…

  13. Jorge
    March 7, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Always enjoy your writing, but reading about your dinner is making me hungry :-) Be well,
    J.

  14. Michiko's
    March 7, 2007 at 10:43 am

    You had dinner yourself? such a beautiful dinner! with Gin on ice I rather liked it, I noticed your stories involved in the moon which is very romantic after you finished that you needed another Gin on ice ha ha
    Enjoy your evening,
    Michiko

  15. Randall
    March 7, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Stephen,  Thanks for the best comment in the history of my humble little space!  regards, Randall

  16. barbara
    March 7, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Heide, near Vienna, has helped to put you into the catagory of a World Wide Poet, Mien Schatz. And indeed you are Ein Schatz!
    Europe is at the tail end of one of the warmest winters I have experienced. No snow to speak of which has not made many of the ski resorts happy but I am not sad about it. Biking to work every morning, snow would certainly be a hardship for me.
    Flowers and trees have blossomed here and the days are warm enough to shed some inner layers of clothing. I hope to go out and make some more videos to show off my "home town" of Heidelberg with its new spring wardrobe.
    Alla Tschüs

  17. carolyn
    March 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Wow, Stephen… thanks for leaving that on my space . I loved it.  I am not an avid reader, and it takes a very good writing to hold my attention(which that did) I actually read it all and enjoyed it. Idont know why you had a problem getting into my space (i wonder  what is going on?) Hmmm. I see you have posted some very interesting things on your blog . I will be coming back more often to read them.  I think you have me hooked ….lol
    thanks again,       truly, carolyn……PS  Have a great week!

  18. carolyn
    March 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Wow, Stephen… thanks for leaving that on my space . I loved it.  I am not an avid reader, and it takes a very good writing to hold my attention(which that did) I actually read it all and enjoyed it. Idont know why you had a problem getting into my space (i wonder  what is going on?) Hmmm. I see you have posted some very interesting things on your blog . I will be coming back more often to read them.  I think you have me hooked ….lol
    thanks again,       truly, carolyn……PS  Have a great week!

  19. Cheryl
    March 7, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Loved your dragon and Liberety story.  Thanks for your comments on my space….Pass the beer…

  20. Lisa
    March 7, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Clicked over from Julia.
    Your story gave me goosebumps on my head.
    That takes talent.
    I like your torch.

  21. Graziano
    March 8, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Hello, thanks for the comment in Italian!
    Good day.
    Graziano

  22. 咪咪
    March 8, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    咪咪告訴你!現在就算你只是聊聊天也能做慈善!
    微軟的即時通訊軟體,也是當紅的即時通訊軟體,在Windows Live Messenger 8.1版之後,只要你在暱稱上面加入可愛的秘密圖示  ,
    以後你跟朋友每聊一次天,
    微軟就會將部分廣告收入捐給紅十字會、愛滋病協會等的慈善或福利機構,而且捐款金額無上限,所以大家趕快加入

  23. .
    March 8, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Thank you for the Great story I liked it a lot!
    I printed  it out to show my sis and my family
     
    Have a nice day!
     
          █████     ██▒▒▒██    █▒▒▒▒▒▒██    █▒▒▒▒▒▒▒██   ██▒▒▒▓▓▓▒▒██   █▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒█   █  ██▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒█   █  █▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒█   █  █▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒█ ████████  ██▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒█ █████  █   █▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒██████   ██▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒█████████████████████  ████▒▒▒▒▒▒██████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒███ ██▒▒██▒▒▒▒██████▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒████▒▒▒▒██▒▒██████▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒███▒▒▒▒▒▒████████▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒█████▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒████▒▒▒▒▒▒█████▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒███ ██▒▒▒▒▒███▒██▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒██  ███████▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒████      █▒▒▒▒▒▒▒██████████      ██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒██       ██▒▒▒▒▒▒██        ██▒▒▒▒██         ██████
     
    HUGS!
     

  24. Michiko's
    March 9, 2007 at 6:04 am

    Dear Stephen,
    Thank you for your precious time to wrote me the beautiful story…A little while I’m in the dreaming the world ..
    this stories brought back when I was a younger age that we used do "Sissor, Rock or paper it was great time of my life times.
    Thank you for sharing the story…Here a toast for you Jin on the ice +tonic this way I liked lol!
    I hope your day has been a good one,
    Michiko  

  25. Fenix
    March 9, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    hello Stephen:
    Thanks for translating "Liberty and Dragon-Eclipse…" in my space It’s a beautiful story
    I hope you are well and have a great weekend
    Hugs

  26. Deborah
    March 9, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Stephen saw it on Jorge’s Space and rushed over here.  Wow, I love Liberty and Dragon.  So sweet and mystical and full of truth.  Interesting use of the most argued verse of the bible by the way.  Soon I will be hitting the road for Texas, blogging all the way, and just excited about what the open road will behold.
    Blessed be

  27. Glitterlady
    March 10, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Hello Stephen!
    YTour paint are beautiful!
    And your word in my blog very significative…
    bye my friend!
    Kisses

  28. sonia
    March 10, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Hello Stephen,how are you?
    Thank you for the warm and encouraging words! Senseless killing have never made sense ans never will ! This incident has left a deep mark in our lives,as it has happened to a close friend! We have the kid grow,and such a tragic end !! life does have strange ways that sometimes become difficult to comprehend !! Time is the greatest healer !
    Thank you for the wonderful story!
    take care and be well!
    Love,
    Sonia.

  29. Abs
    March 10, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Good Morning Stephen!!! :O)
     
    What a pleasant surprise to see you. What a beautiful story , I’m so honoured you shared it with me and I am glad you posted it in my blog for others to enjoy as well…I made a trip to Exile’s space..very interesting…few words spoken ( definitely) and so many responses..Interesting..:O)
     
    Be well my friend and have a wonderful weekend!! :O)
     
    Peace< Love & Happiness,
    Abs

  30. Jane
    March 10, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    I hope at your Mental Health appointment you are able to teach them a thing or two :)

  31. Unknown
    March 10, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Da doctor likes da ink blots ya’s makes. Dey show da workings of a most twisted and devious mind.
     
    Peace Da Doc

  32. JouElam e
    March 11, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Stephen,Dear Friend
    Anothe big post in your SPACE , Congratulation.Do you are a mystic man?we think so!Very thxs for your so beautiful and deep comment in ELOHA.
     
    We don’t have time to stay and surf in the worlwideweb,in these days our presence in the Net it’s AN AUSENCE:Sorry for that,but our hearts always stay togheter with you.
     
    Have a very,very wonderful Sunday
     
    With love
     
    George+Sophie  

  33. U
    March 12, 2007 at 10:27 am

    sourire ,simply to love you  Essence-Invisible

  1. June 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm
  2. June 24, 2011 at 6:36 am
  3. July 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Leave a comment